Avaya unveils post-emergence board of directors

Avaya has announced the members selected to serve on the company's board of directors upon its emergence from chapter 11 as a public company.

Jim Chirico is Avaya's current President and Chief Executive Officer and formerly its Chief Operating Officer. Prior to Avaya, he served as Executive Vice President of Global Operations, Development and Manufacturing for Seagate Technology, a publicly-traded provider of electronic data storage technologies and systems.

Ronald A. Rittenmeyer is the Executive Chairman and Chief Executive Officer at Tenet Healthcare, a diversified health care services company. Previously, Rittenmeyer was the Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Electronic Data Systems, a global provider of information technology services, business process outsourcing and applications services. He also serves as a Director on the Boards of American International Group, QuintilesIMS and Tenet Healthcare.

Stephan Scholl is the President at Infor, a privately held provider of enterprise software products and services. Prior to Infor, he was the President and Chief Executive of enterprise software provider Lawson Software and helped lead Lawson's merger with Infor in 2012. Scholl has also held various leadership roles at Oracle Corporation.

Susan L. Spradley is a Partner in the Tap Growth Group, a senior executive consulting firm focused on helping new ventures and Fortune 500 companies drive growth. Previously, Spradley served in multiple senior executive roles at Viavi Solutions (formerly JDSU Corporation). She also serves as a Director on the Board of Qorvo, a publicly-traded global provider of radio frequency systems and semiconductor technologies.

Stanley J. Sutula III is the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Pitney Bowes, a publicly-traded business-to-business provider of equipment, software and services. Prior to Pitney Bowes Sutula held the roles of Vice President and Controller and also Vice President and Treasurer at IBM.

Scott D. Vogel is the Managing Member of Vogel Partners LLC, a private investment firm. Vogel also serves as a Director on the public company Boards of Arch Coal, Key Energy Services and Bonanza Creek Energy. Previously, Mr. Vogel was a Managing Director at Davidson Kempner Capital Management from 2002 to 2016.

William D. Watkins was most recently Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Imergy Power Systems, a privately held energy storage solutions company. He also serves as a Director on the Boards of FLEX, an electronics design manufacturer, and Maxim Integrated Products, a manufacturer of linear and mixed-signal integrated circuits. Earlier in his career he served as Chief Executive Officer and Director of Seagate Technology from 2004-2009.

"These accomplished executives have knowledge and experience highly relevant to the markets in which we compete," said Chirico. "In addition, their strong and diverse mix of business skills and industry insights will help position Avaya for long-term success as a public company and grow shareholder value. I look forward to drawing on their expertise upon emergence."

The current Board of Directors is expected to remain in place until the new Board assumes its responsibilities upon emergence from chapter 11.

Related Topics

Share this story